If you love me….

Our problem is we don’t know the truth. Or we forget what is true. Living in this world we begin to believe that the world’s standards are truth. Those standards say if I do this then I will be accepted. If I do these things for this person they will love me. And then we tell that to God in our prayers. We try to impose this broken life standard on our expectations of God. We ask for raises at work. We ask that He would heal our sicknesses. We pray to fix broken relationships. God pay this bill. And His response is”I love you.” But God that doesn’t help me.Your I love you isn’t getting me out of debt. God, I know you love me, but I need my car fixed. I need so and so to love me back. If I just had this thing, then life would be better. And again His response is I love you. 

You see God knows the truth. Unconsciously what we are really telling God is, if You love me… then you will put money in my bank account. God if you love me then you will get me that rich husband I’ve been asking for or you will let us finally have children. We are trying to put the same conditions this world upholds to on God. And when He doesn’t prove His love in the manner we want we blame Him.We say things like well I don’t believe in God.

The truth is God says I love you. But that I love you is so much more. It’s I love you so do not be dismayed.It’s I love you so don’t fear. 

fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Isaiah 41:10 ESV

http://bible.com/59/isa.41.10.ESV

God is saying don’t even let this situation worry you. 

“Therefore I tell you, do not be anxious about your life, what you will eat or what you will drink, nor about your body, what you will put on. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothing?

Matthew 6:25 ESV

http://bible.com/59/mat.6.25.ESV

God is saying I want to change the condition of your heart because it will change how you look at your condition. It’s not I’m broke. It’s God loves me and He is here in the middle of my “broke.” With new eyes we can see the hopeless situation is no longer hopeless because God is here with us.  And if God is here everything changes. Every hopless situation begins to vanish. Sickness and disease and anxiety and fear must bow to the name of Jesus. We were saying God if you love me…..and He said there is no “If”…simply I love you. 

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

James 1:12 ESV

http://bible.com/59/jas.1.12.ESV

Leave a Reply

