Life Hacks

I’m sure you’ve heard the term if life hands you a lemon make lemonade. Here are some life hacks I’ve come up with….or lemonade hacks if you will.

If your spouse is snoring next to you either on bed or on the sofa, don’t fret. Put on a zombie show. Now it feels like the walking dead is in ultra surround sound. 

If your special needs daughter likes to rip papers, sweet now you have your own paper shredder. Just give her old bills and credit card applications you get in the mail. 

Did your 10 month old son just discover how to close doors and now closed them with himself lying next to the door blocking you from opening it? Before you let you son play a game of “frustrate the parent”, find a plush toy and shove it under the door so it doesn’t swing shut anymore. 

If your up at 5am because your daughter is loudly playing in her crib and you can’t sleep, write a blog post. 

There is a lot to say about positivity. It’s actually been shown to improve a person’s health. Here is a list from the Mayo clinic.

Health benefits that positive thinking may provide include:

  • Increased life span
  • Lower rates of depression
  • Lower levels of distress
  • Greater resistance to the common cold
  • Better psychological and physical well-being
  • Reduced risk of death from cardiovascular disease
  • Better coping skills during hardships and times of stress

It starts with our self talk. It’s those things we tell ourselves through out the day. Some of it is from inward analysis and observations. Sometimes it’s from lingering thoughts of past experiences. Sometimes it’s influenced by others. Give yourself a fair shot. 

Speak life to yourself. Whether that’s scripture or self encouragement. Just keep it prositive. God is good and He does want the best for you. 

“fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.”

Isaiah 41:10 ESV

“And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose.”

Romans 8:28 ESV

It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not leave you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed.”

Deuteronomy 31:8 ESV

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you. Not as the world gives do I give to you. Let not your hearts be troubled, neither let them be afraid.”

John 14:27 ESV

God has given you reason to be hopeful. Make divine flavored lemonade.

Prayer: Lord God, thank you that we are not without hope. Your word says you will not leave us or forsake us. You also tell me not to be afraid. I give you my fear and frustrations. I know that you have good planned for me. Give me strength to walk in the truth. The truth that you are greater than my circumstances and you have already given me victory in all of life’s challenges. In Jesus name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

