If the shoe fits…

Today I was walking my daughter home from the car. I glanced down and realized she was walking a little funny. It was like a smurf with a bad limp. Somewhere between that moment and leaving the car she lost a shoe. My sweet little girl didn’t speak up or complain she just kept on walking with her flat tire. We found it about 20 steps away. She didn’t even have socks on because she took those off in the car and I couldn’t find them in the car abyss. My daughter is amazing and surprises me everyday. She still is mostly non- verbal at 4 years old. I’m thinking if that happened to me I would be like, “Yo, Pops! You better stop walking. Making me walk out here in the cold missing a shoe!” But my daughter just kept holding my hand and remained completely silent. 

There are times in this life where we just need help. For example, wrestling an ostrich. I have no earthly idea why you would do such a thing, however you should probably phone a friend for that. At the bare minimum they can pull out their cellphone and capture the festivities.

For the eyes of the Lord are on the righteous, and his ears are open to their prayer. But the face of the Lord is against those who do evil.”

1 Peter 3:12 ESV

http://bible.com/59/1pe.3.12.ESV

Prayer is such an amazing gift. Sometimes I wonder what prayer was like before Jesus. I mean ending it with, “in Jesus name Amen.”just feels so final and complete. It’s like making a request on White house stationary with the official seal of the oval office imprinted into the paper. Without it is like using a crayon on toilet paper. We are asking in the name of the King of the flipping universe. ” Oh yeah, and this request is on behalf of the guy who helped create this world and eveything in it.” 

Whatever you ask in my name, this I will do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.  If you ask me anything in my name, I will do it.

John 14:13‭-‬14 ESV

http://bible.com/59/jhn.14.13-14.ESV

Jesus paid for his bride. We are now joint heirs with Christ. Before we were married to the law, which could only point out sin not save us from it. But just as death will break marriage vows we died in baptism with Christ to the law and were born again into a marriage covenant with Christ.

We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.

Romans 6:4 ESV

http://bible.com/59/rom.6.4.ESV

This is true for everyone who has confessed that Jesus is Lord and believes in his heart that Jesus is the son of God. Just as my wife received my last name in marriage, so did the believer receive Jesus’ name in our union with him. Wow! It’s like certified mail that has to get a receipt signature before being delivered. Sooo…why aren’t you praying? If you need help just ask. If my daughter had told me her shoe fell off….she wouldn’t have had to go 20 steps before getting help. 

Prayer: Abba Father, Thank you for your son. Thank you for Jesus and the extravagant honor of coming before you in his name. Lord, may you come today and meet me. Bless me. Not because I could ever earn it, but because Jesus earned it for me. May I receive the heavenly inheritance set aside for me. Thank you for being a God who is present and hears the cries of his children. In Jesus Name we pray. Amen.

Leave a Reply

