Time waits for no man…unless that man is Chuck Norris.

This year I have really been convicted regarding my time. We have endless apps to distract and entertain. We carry mini interactive tv screens with us everywhere we go. These apps cry for our attention with pop up notifications to tell us today is Timmy’s birthday. Or Suzy called the president a cotton-headed ninny muggins and 34 people liked that. It is so easy to be distra…………………… Sorry what was I saying. Ummm Jesus loves you? Dang hold on I have to go back and read what I wrote…cted. 

Not too long ago I tried doing online surveys. It definitely works for some people. And it can be a way to bring in extra income.  Then my full-time job got crazy busy. I was so busy my calendar had double and even triple bookings for meetings. I just didn’t have time. And no person can control time…excluding Dr.Who and Chuck Norris. The best we can do is try to manage it. Time is like jumping out of a plane…you can’t take it back. Suddenly, I couldn’t stomach surveys that took 20 mins and gave me some obscure points system that only required 18 more surveys before I got a 5 dollar gift card. 

This ended up showing me how valuable my time is. In fact it is the most valuable thing I have to give. It gives new perspective to every moment. I see the sacrifice it takes to spend time with family. And it’s worth it. The time you use to play with your daughter. Or the time you take to simply look into your spouse’s eyes. Or that donut you eat. Worth it! Well, ok maybe not the donut part, unless it had sprinkles or something.

Today is a precious gift. It can be invested in the future, enjoyed or wasted. Prayer and worship is never a waste of time. Its in those moments that we are investing in eternity. God has this crazy way of taking the things we give him and multiplying it. Similiar to the money we tithe, time can be given to God and blessed.

People are also not a waste. Even strangers deserve a moment. You have never met a single person who was not made in the image of God. Someone asked Jesus what the greatest commandment was. 

And He said to him, ” ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart , and with all your soul , and with all your mind .’  This is the great and foremost commandment.  The second is like it, ‘You shall love your neighbor as yourself .’  On these two commandments depend the whole Law and the Prophets.”

Mt 22:37‭-‬40 NASB

http://bible.com/100/mat.22.37-40.NASB

If we are looking at good uses of time I think we can start there. God and people. I’m not against entertainment. Who doesn’t love seeing a housewife celebrity make terrible life choices or cops arrest actual people or all the hit millions of hit tv shows. We should just also make sure our time is spent on those things that matter. 

Prayer: Abba Father, thank you for this amazing gift of today. May you bless me today. May you bless all of my interactions. Help me to be a blessing to others. May you make my time today to be spent on worthy endeavors. May you also meet me today. I want to hear from you. Holy Spirit may you make Jesus real to me today. I want to know you and spend time with you. Help me to recognize the opportunities you give me today. In Jesus name we pray.Amen.

Leave a Reply

