Child Like

​I have a truely gifted child. Unfortunately, her current talents involve destruction and mess making. She is the Albert Einstein of breaking things. 

This girl can destroy cardboard books.  Those are the special books they make specifically to not be as easily torn as regular books. I mean that’s impressive. My wife told me this story of when she took my daughter, Teagan, to a friend’s house. Teagan was about to reach for a cardboard children’s book when my wife ran to stop her. The friend whose house they were at said,”Oh, It’s fine she can’t hurt it.” So they let Teagan take the book. Within seconds my daughter bent the cardboard book completely backwards and broke the spine. Lol. 

We nicknamed her Teagan Tornado because of the path of destruction she leaves behind. If I’m honest part of me is crazy proud of her. That’s my girl! *Insert Cheesy grin here* 

As parents it was heartbreaking to learn our daughter had developmental delays. My wife worked in childcare. She was quit aware of developmental stages and became concerned when my daughter wasn’t making those milestones. 

She just turned 4 a few weeks ago. I still look forward to the day when I can have a complete conversation with her. But in the meantime, I’m enjoying who she is today. She is so smart and sweet. And yes still destructive. We have this child’s gate to keep her out of our kitchen. One day she snuck into the kitchen and we found her with her brother’s formula canister. She was covered in white powder and was still licking the powder off her little fingers. 

This gate is to keep her from getting hurt and to keep our kitchen from looking like a broken snow globe. 

There was this barrier that God put up in the old testament. It was a curtain that separated the holy of holies. This was the place where the ark of the covenant was kept. The only person allowed to enter was the high priest once a year. You want to talk about danger. The high priest wore bells when he would enter into the holy of holies. He also had a rope tied around him when he entered. The bells would be to let the other priest know if he was killed inside. The rope was to pull his corpse back if he died. I hope they received some kind of priestly hazard pay. 

You see God had to keep that curtain up to prevent more deaths. God is so holy that sin can’t be in his presence. Seeing my daughter’s gate reminded me of this curtain in the temple. Sometimes when she is standing outside the kitchen gate I can’t take it.  I reach over and pick her up. I wish we didn’t have to keep her out. 

God loves his children and you know what? He thought the same thing. I wish I didn’t have to keep them out. 

And Jesus cried out again with a loud voice, and yielded up His spirit. And behold, the veil of the temple was torn in two from top to bottom; and the earth shook and the rocks were split.

Mt 27:50‭-‬51 NASB

http://bible.com/100/mat.27.50-51.NASB

When Jesus paid the ultimate price on the cross He forever tore the curtain in two. He paid the cost of death to allow us to enter into the holy of holies. He reached over the child’s gate and picked us up in his arms. 

We now have access to God himself. There is no barrier, no demand for perfection. We can boldly enter in. This is His tremendous love for us. 

Prayer: Lord Jesus, I pray today may your will be done on earth as it is in Heaven. Thank you for affording us an audience with the King of Kings. May we allow no sin or shortcomings to prevent us from entering in. Just like a child looks up to a parent. We look up to you and want to become like you. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

