8 Things I learned while parenting….

Being the parent of two kids definitely puts somethings in perspective. Here are some of the things I’ve learned. 

1. If you wake up in the middle of the night to assist your wife who is already awake with the crying kids, then for the love of God make some noise for your wife.

I can’t help that I have mad ninja skills. True story I got up to help my wife with our screaming toddler. The Mrs. never heard me and upon seeing me screamed at the top of her lungs and then….oh it gets better….proceeds to start crying. Yes, I scared my wife so badly I made her cry.

2. Don’t eat anything you found on the floor unless you are confident you put it there…..recently. 

Kids throw food on the floor and eat anything they find. Its kind of like a kids version of a squirrel storing food for the winter. I don’t know if it’s because of the amount of time I’ve spent with my daughter and her habits just rub off. But there comes a time when that dropped piece of food doesn’t look so bad. And you try to justify it in your head by saying something like… I am not one to let a perfectly good piece of popcorn go to waste.*put food in mouth then immediately spits food out* Yep that was a piece of hair that got attached. 

3. Don’t leave your kids alone…ever. 

All it takes is seconds for your dearly beloved child to find you wallet or purse and stick money in their mouth. Just saying.

4. If you even suspect a faint possibility of poop, check.

Do you smell something? Let’s be honest every parent secretly hopes the other parent finds it first. But here’s the thing if your child finds it first you both lose. Its like Russian roulette, but with poop. Russian Pooplette? Yeah, I tried too hard with that one.

5. Be prepared to surrender your food…oh and its no longer “your” food. 

 I have literally had my daughter take food out of my mouth. And she always wants food off of my plate even if it’s the exact same thing. But she’s pretty smart…my food usually is better. I’ll give her props for that one.

6. If you have to watch it, make sure it’s at least somewhat catchy.

You used to have you favorite catchy song from the radio playing endlessly in your head. Ahh the good ol’ days. Now it’s baby genius and mother goose club. Have you ever seen storybots? Their songs are surprisingly clever and catchy. Do yourself a favor….or buy a good pair of headphones. 

7. You will no longer judge that parent at the store with the loud kid. Kids only come in one variety…loud.

We have all had that thought, ” when I have kids my children will not act like that.” Welcome to free will. We all have it. And sometimes curiosity wins over the threat of a spanking or quiet time. 

8. Forgive them for they know not what they do.

It’s been proven that the human brain doesn’t stop growing until a person is in their 20’s. http://www.news-medical.net/news/20110923/Human-brain-development-does-not-stop-at-adolescence-Research.aspx
I can’t tell you how many times I got asked, ” what were you thinking!?!?” “I don’t know.” Of course you don’t say I wanted to see it smashed or thought it would be funny to tied to the cat. Let’s c just say I got my share of spankings. 

It amazes me that Jesus said forgive them for they know not what they do. I mean you have to be pretty darn deliberate to put someone on the cross. But such was His love. Jesus knew from day one that He would be the sacrifice for all. And..He still came. He still endured it all for us. Wow. 

Be kind to the parent you see struggling in the store. Give your kids a break even after they eat your money and poop on your things. Heck their brains are literally still developing. Just love them. We are the first image of God they will ever see. Let them know they are worth the cost just a Jesus did for us.

Above all, keep fervent in your love for one another, because love covers a multitude of sins.

1 P 4:8 NASB

http://bible.com/100/1pe.4.8.NASB

Leave a Reply

