Surviving on Coffee

Let me paint the picture. Right now it’s 3:34 am. In an ideal household this should signify a time of blissful slumber. Instead my wife is giving herself a steam bath because she hasn’t stopped coughing. The urgent care clinic said she has bronchitis. My daughter is awake talking in her not quite English jibberish and my son is having his 2nd bottle of the night. The first was administered at midnight. 

And God is saying,” What? You asked for help with your blog.” *insert the “are you for real?” look here* If you’re a parent, then I really don’t have to explain what surviving on coffee means. We have this coffee mug which I believe is extremely accurate. It reads: I drink coffee for your protection. 

Can you imagine what the world was like before coffee? Yeah, I can’t imagine it either… It was a truck question. And to my dear tea drinker friends who gave up coffee…well kudos to you, but that is not natural. In the south we say to that “Bless your heart.”

And I have to give props to my wife.Just before bed time she asked if I could walk my daughter to the bus for school. Of course I was walk are well mannered daughter to the bust stop.Oh she got me. Not only was no one in the house sleeping, but I got stuck with waking up at 6:30 wrestling my daughter into clothes and getting her to the bus. Regina 1 Kevin zero. Well played my dear.Well played.

And God looked down upon the ever increasing busyness of man and said let there be coffee. I was reading in Mark and I read this verse about Jesus..

“On the next day, when they had left Bethany, He became hungry. Seeing at a distance a fig tree in leaf, He went to see if perhaps He would find anything on it; and when He came to it, He found nothing but leaves, for it was not the season for figs. He said to it, “May no one ever eat fruit from you again!” And His disciples were listening.”

Mk 11:12‭-‬14 NASB

http://bible.com/100/mrk.11.12-14.NASB

I love it. Jesus just reacted like any dude. It’s like yo Jesus was straight up hungry. You know it’s real when we start throwing the “yo’s”in there. For real. He saw this tree and thought He would grab a bite. And then He got upset when the tree didn’t have any fruit. He was just real. 

I worked in a T-Mobile call center for a little bit. I remember I had this trainer that told me if you get someone on the call and they are disputing what you are telling them and they ask are you for real? If you say “for real for real” they will except it like it’s gospel. No further arguments. Works like a charm. Anyway Jesus was a for real for real guy. He got hungry and upset and tired.

It reminds me of another verse in Hebrews.

“For we do not have a high priest who cannot sympathize with our weaknesses, but One who has been tempted in all things as we are, yet without sin. Therefore let us draw near with confidence to the throne of grace, so that we may receive mercy and find grace to help in time of need.”

He 4:15‭-‬16 NASB

http://bible.com/100/heb.4.15-16.NASB

Jesus knows the striving. The restless nights. He gets it. He lived it. Wow. The king of the freaking universe knows what it’s like to not be able to function without coffee. I love that second verse too. Therefore, let us draw near with confidence. Because He gets it, we should know we can trust him with the struggle to survive. So do we pray for help or just pray for coffee? I need to go back to sleep.

Leave a Reply

