What do you want?

I love the innocence of our four year old. Sometimes she just doesn’t get it. You know the I’m crying because my parents won’t let me eat glue or play with scissors. We are so mean. She doesn’t have too many words, but we celebrate all of them. Each new word is a victory when your child experiences speech delays. Today, I went to lock the front door and she grabbed my hand dragged me to the door knob and said “open.”Hmm I wonder what she wants. There is this crazy joy a father gets when his child can put the pieces together.

I wasn’t in a position to open the door and let her go outside and run after her while she screams. I picked her up and told her I was proud of her words…to which she slapped me in the face because she was upset that we weren’t going outside. When you are not happy and you want the other person to know it…you find ways to express your dissatisfaction. 

The one that cracks me up is when she yells eat. But she keeps yelling it until we get her food. She has no comprehension of food preparation. She becomes this little food tyrant. Eeeeaaaatt!!! Sometimes she throws the word “more” in there just to mix it up. Eeeaaatt! MO! MMMooorrre! EAT! Which as a parent concerns me a little….what do you mean more? What the heck were you eating before this? I didn’t give you anything yet.

It’s frustrating to not get what you asked for. But my daughter doesn’t see the full picture. Sometimes we say no because she could hurt herself. Sometimes the answer is yes, but she has to wait to get it like when we are preparing her food. 

Relationships are mirrors. God has given them to us to see our relationship with him in different ways. Sometimes God says no to our requests. But He sees the full picture. He isn’t limited by time like we are. He knows the full course of our petitions. 

“And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.”

Ro 8:28 NASB

http://bible.com/100/rom.8.28.NASB

I wish I could explain to my daughter why I have to say no. Right now she has no way to really comprehend what I’m explaining. And quite often I’m convinced she doesn’t even know what she really wants. Of course that never happens to us civilised adults we always know what we want.*Pretends to avoid eye contact*

I think this is just like God. Sometimes we know the answer to why we aren’t getting our petitions answered. Sometimes we don’t. But He knows the full scope of existence. And I bet we would have difficulty in some instances if He were to explain it to us. 

Romans 8:28 says all thinks work together for the good of those who love God, and are called according to his purposes. 

If you believe that Jesus is the son of God and have accepted his sacrifice for your life….then it’s all going to work out for good. It doesn’t say just like you want it or when you want it. But it will be good. 

“For those whom He foreknew, He also predestined to become conformed to the image of His Son, so that He would be the firstborn among many brethren; and these whom He predestined, He also called; and these whom He called, He also justified; and these whom He justified, He also glorified.”

Ro 8:29‭-‬30 NASB

http://bible.com/100/rom.8.29-30.NASB

29-30 tells us He knew ahead of time who would accept the Son of God. And those are the ones He called. If you are a believer it’s because you have been called according to his purposes. You have a purpose and it’s going to work out for good. 

“But in all these things we overwhelmingly conquer through Him who loved us. For I am convinced that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor things present, nor things to come, nor powers, nor height, nor depth, nor any other created thing, will be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Ro 8:37‭-‬39 NASB

http://bible.com/100/rom.8.37-39.NASB

And here it is. God is saying look I know things aren’t exactly like you want them. There are reasons for that. Some are your fault (don’t pretend)… others are mine. But no matter where you find yourself. The most significant thing is you will always be loved. No circumstance, no trial, answered prayer or not…you are loved. 

“Yeah, yeah I know that.” No, you don’t. You see the Father never created humans to live in or with sin. We will never fully comprehend his love until sin is eradicated from our world. We will see in part and know in part, but it won’t be until we see him face to face will we get it. This is that earth shattering, time stopping, Sun freezing Love with a capital L. 

The most significant part of our asking is knowing He loves us no matter the answer. He has picked us up and is holding us. We are so upset that we don’t have that “thing we want.” We want to show our displeasure. And we failed to realize the greatest gift of all time is the one we already have. His love.

Leave a Reply

